The Roundabout Project . 2013 – 2014

In November of 2013, as an art experiment, from 8 a.m. – 9 a.m., I traded in my morning ritual of checking Facebook with a new one: I sat at the roundabout in the middle of my Los Angeles neighborhood and wrote “status updates” on a manual typewriter. There, I reported on the city, the people I met, and whatever the morning provoked. Afterwards, I went home and pasted the updates to postcards, mailing them to people who had given me their snail mail addresses. I did this because I wanted to study communication rituals– what translates from digital to analog.

The Los Angeles Times featured this project on November 28, 2013.

Here are a few special updates from my collection, collaged into commemorative art pieces, one of which traveled to London as a part of Project LALO at studio 1.1. All pieces collected here are sold.

Leave a Reply

